About NNU - Accreditation

About NNU - Accreditation

Spacer component


Accreditation is a collegial process of self-review and peer review for improvement of academic quality and public accountability of institutions and programs. It is a process of recognizing educational institutions for performance, integrity, and quality that entitles them to the confidence of the educational community and the public. This recognition is extended largely through non-governmental, voluntary membership associations that establish accreditation criteria, evaluate institutions against those criteria, and approve institutions that meet the criteria. Higher education in the United States is served by eight regional accrediting agencies.
Northwest Nazarene University has a long and distinguished history as an accredited institution, having first been accredited as a junior college in 1931, and subsequently as a four-year college in 1937. NNU has maintained its accreditation since that time and is accredited by the Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities (NWCCU).
This NWCCU accreditation process is currently represented by a seven-year cycle of written reports and visits by peer-evaluation committees. In fall 2016, the institution completed its most recent seven-year cycle; in fall 2017, the institution began its new seven-year cycle of evaluation. Our most recent self-evaluation reports are linked below.

NNU offers programs leading to 14 degrees (AA, BA, BS, BSN, MA, MDiv, MBA, M.Ed., MS, MSN, MSW, Ed.S., Ed.D., and Ph.D.). Undergraduate degrees include 43 majors and 8 co-majors covering 66 areas of study. Graduate degrees include 24 areas of emphasis in six departments: business, counseling, education, nursing, social work and theology. The Center for Professional Development offers two certificate programs and a variety of non-academic, professional continuing education courses and workshops that qualify for professional development credits and/or continuing education units (CEU), depending on the subject matter. NNU also offers concurrent credit for high school students and an online course of study program for Nazarene ordination.


Northwest Nazarene University is an educational community with a primary commitment to the learning and developmental growth of its student in undergraduate, graduate, and professional development programs. The University is committed to an ongoing assessment process at university, academic program and individual course levels. The purposes of assessment at Northwest Nazarene University include formative and summative evaluations resulting in improvement of student learning and educational programs, and communicating the success of these processes to internal and external audiences in appropriate ways.
Assessment at NNU includes several elements:
  • University-wide, college, program and department strategies or assessment of student learning
  • Program and department objectives: the more specific statement of expected outcomes students will demonstrate in knowledge, skill or disposition as a result of a specific learning experience, course, or program
  • Annual program and department report of student performance on school or department objectives
  • Four University values: NNU’s statement of its broad goals for students in undergraduate and graduate programs:
    • Transformation
    • Community
    • Truth
    • Service
  • Annual University report of student performance on University values
  • The collection of information on entering and graduating students
  • Periodic review of all academic programs and faculty
  • Documentation of modification of programs made as a result of assessment data
In addition to regional accreditation, some departments and programs are accredited by nationally-recognized specialized accreditation boards including the following:


College of Business

The Business programs are accredited by the Accreditation Council for Business Schools and Programs (ACBSP).

Concurrent Credit

The Concurrent Credit Program is accredited by the National Alliance Concurrent Enrollment Programs (NACEP).

College of Education

The College of Education is accredited by the Council for the Accreditation of Educator Preparation (CAEP).

Department of Engineering

The BS Engineering Programs are accredited by the Engineering Accreditation Commission of ABET.

College of Nursing

The Nursing Department is accredited by the Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education (CCNE).

Department of Social Work

The Social Work Department is accredited by the Council on Social Work Education (CSWE).